Fulmar at Cliffs of Moher

Today we took an excellent day-long bus tour to the Cliffs of Moher, 75 kilometers southwest of of Galway, on the west coast of Ireland.  They extend for 14 kilometers and rise to 214 meters (700 feet). They are a good walk from the single large parking lot, and I had to march with my 100-400 mm lens for a half hour to the spot (100 meters high?) where I captured this Fulmar--a gull-like seabird with a tubenose to eject salt from the seawater it drinks. The extra shows a tiny slice of the sprawling cliffs, with a pair of fulmars at a spot where they might later nest; they were the only species I saw in any numbers. The experience recalled our visit to Bempton Cliffs on the northeast coast of England in June 2013, when many birds were nesting. The birds there were far more accessible for photography than any spot I encountered today, also with more species than today.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.