The Ellacombe Chimes...

It was raining heavily as I dashed down the road to ring this morning. And it looked pretty set to stay all day so I snapped the Ellacombe Chimes and a couple of peal boards on the ringing room. My favourite chair is the one on the left; the one on the right should be used with care in case the bolts on the chimes dig in your back. But in reality I get little sitting time because it's all about ringing. 
A peal takes over 3 hours continuous ringing on these bells. Something I prefer to avoid. Ringing 4 or 5 quarter peals in one day is much more appealing even though it's actually more ringing. But we generally stick to one per day; usually twice a week.; plus practice night and other ad hoc things. Since this is in the street where I live you can imagine a huge proportion of my life is spent in Fountain Street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.