Edinburgh Chap's Photos

By GilesGuthrie

Food Cycling (302/366)

And so, we inexorably roll into what the Americans refer to as "the Holiday Season", with all the ghastliness that such a twee epithet could possibly convey. I for one can't wait for the honesty of January's cold depressing misery.

First ritual is the carving of the pumpkins (or, as Jessica rather endearingly calls them, "pumkins"). This involves me spending all of my wrist's endurance, eviscerating the damn things, only to be told that they're "disgusting", and won't be eaten.

Well, this year I've rebelled. I can't, with any good faith, throw out two kilos of perfectly edible (if slightly tasteless) food. So I took the seeds & spaghetti, and infused them into a chicken stock, while sauteeing off the rest of the flesh with onions, butter, garlic, cumin, ginger and coriander. I transferred the stock to the flesh, cooked it, blitzed it, and served it in a bowl with buttered toasted morning rolls. Tasty and cheap.

Doubtless my three wee trolls will make faces similar to those behind the bowl when I try to serve it to them tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.