EvelyneNaylorC

By EvelyneNC

Keys

This morning I found this ring of keys. Haven't seen this since maybe 30 years? How did it lie all of a sudden on top of my dresser? a little bit of a miracle or maybe a riddle? Maybe it fell out of a drawer that I haven't opened in a long time? Mystery. But all the keys are well known to me, or better  most of them. The big one was, if I remember well, the key to the shed in my old house in Hamburg. Must have been made with the house and shed in 1938.
the little one. without any "profile" was the key to my piggy bank, when I was six years old. The piggy bank was a bright red Danish post box. We lived in Denmark at the time. The little small one that has a little screw opening at the bottom was for my roller skates, maybe 60 years old. I loved to go roller skating in the street at the time and was pretty proud of my performances. That was in Holland, where we lived at the time and where I also learned skating in the cold and snow less winters. Those roller  skates were very different from what later came: roller blades. Those first ones had iron wheels.
The last one that I recognize, is the ignition key to my Yamaha 400. I got it when my daughter was 3 years old and as I was living alone with her at the time, actually all of her life with me, I only rode my metal horse in the evenings when she was in bed and slept. Thanks God she  was a very sound sleeper. But when at the end of a couple of months of enjoying the feel of freedom that such a bike can give you I realized that I took an enormous risk with my evening tours, I sold it the next spring. Wasn't easy but responsible...So, that was in Hamburg and now 38 years ago.

Amazing what a bunch of memories all of a sudden can pop up...

In the extra you can see my work of yesterday. Haven't done that in about 15 years, since it dawned on me that buying new socks was cheaper than what half an hour of my work would be worth. I did it yesterday because many new socks are cut too narrowly and are uncomfortable. This pair is very comfortable :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.