Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

A cowbird

We were so fortunate that the rain we had today here in South Carolina did not happen while we were having our blip meet in Beaufort.  Gusty winds and heavy rain..hail at some places and possible tornadoes.  Areas a few miles from where I live had trees down and power lines broken.  At 6:30 pm it is still raining and the wind is fluttering the trees more than normal.  We need the rain but hoping the storms do not come back.

Today was a rest day..I did the laundry, went to the store for some fresh food and then parked myself on my chair with a book..one that happened to be about an undercover FBI agent who was working right here in South Carolina!   I do like books that take place at places I know.  I haven't finished it yet so I am still trying to figure out the "who done it!"

While looking out the window I spotted this bird, a cowbird, that I have never seen before.  I looked up the info on this bird and this is what it says...

The Brown-headed Cowbird is a stocky blackbird with a fascinating approach to raising its young. Females forgo building nests and instead put all their energy into producing eggs, sometimes more than three dozen a summer. These they lay in the nests of other birds, abandoning their young to foster parents, usually at the expense of at least some of the host’s own chicks. 


Interesting!!  The female is in the extras.    Not great photos as they were shot through the window in the pouring rain.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.