a lack of focus

By minnchip

Gourd

I realised two big issues with Steve recently. One is that I still sometimes cannot decipher his accent. This to me is a gourd, pronounced very simply 'gourd'. When Steve says it there is an extra syllable.

Secondly, I found that this particular gourd is an ornamental gourd. Now what is the point of that? I was expecting him to serve this up one day.

Update... Steve showed me the seed packet and realised that it is in fact (of course) edible

In other news, I had my own minor tennis victory, just before the WTA match of Serena Williams v Maria Sharapova. Now that was some tennis! I have joined two club leagues, where you are assigned into a group of players, and it is up to you to set up matches at your convenience. Last night I played a 20 year old lad who is a gymnastics instructor. Today I played a Russian lady who moved to the UK last year.

Topping off a busy day, Steve and I made our way to see Ralph McTell, one of his favourite musicians. We were in a small Georgian theatre built in 1805 which was lovely. The set included some favourites for Steve and ones he hadn't heard for years. We were invited to sing along with one of his popular songs ...Streets of London.

So how can you tell me you're lonely,
And say for you that the sun don't shine?
Let me take you by the hand and lead you through the streets of London
I'll show you something to make you change your mind

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.