Butterfingers

By Lilyrex

Water, water everywhere....

Marta sat on the sofa, accompanied by Genghis Khat, who lay upside down purring.

"Genghis, I'm going to phone my mother and tell her the news. Wish me luck."

Genghis flicked his tail. You don't need luck, he thought. You need a flak jacket.

Dora picked up the phone within 2 rings, answering with her usual charm. "Kindly bugger off. I have had nothing to do with the FBI!"

"Mother, you know perfectly well it's PPI. Pretending you're mad won't deter these companies."

"Well that's all you know. The last time one of these people phoned to ask if I'd had an accident in my car, I said I had. I told him I'd been out for a long drive, and got stuck in a traffic jam. And then, I said, the inevitable happened.
'Ah, someone bumped you.' says he, imagining he's lured in a victim, 'and you were injured.'
'No, no,' I replied. 'It wasn't that sort of accident. No....' I left a long pause, 'actually.....I wet myself.'
Honestly Marta, it was amazing how quickly he hung up. It was quite disappointing really; I was just beginning to enjoy it."

Marta rolled her eyes at Genghis. Her mother was in a good mood - but she was just about to spoil it....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.