Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Hawthorn Blossom

I'm a bit picky about sunrises.  This morning for example, there just wasn't enough cloud!  I shouldn't be moaning after the last week when we didn't see any sun for 6 days in a row.  It didn't stop me going out for an early walk, but rather than taking the 'tools of the trade' for landscape images, I just took an all around lens on the camera and no tripod or filters. 

Evidence of spring is all around and it does cause a lift in my steps as I was walking up the local canal footpath.  That and the need to dodge the puddles and other flooded areas on the small nature reserve that sits alongside the landlocked section of canal.  I took a looped walk and got to a bridge over a small section of open water, only to find that the paths to and from the bridge were underwater.  It's at times like this that size 12 shoes come in handy.  I give you a picture of a rather large bloke, up on his tip toes, trying to make sure that water didn't come up over the collar of the boots!  I made it, just!

In the end I chose this blossom as my blip, lit by the rising sun.  I just liked the way the background highlights framed the flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.