OMP

By OMP

Birds(s) on a Wire

View the line-up in Large and choose a suspect. ;-)

When the starlings arrive, it's a little creepy.  Today I counted 32 of them at one time.  They either wait for a turn, at the crowded feeder, in the trees across the street or on the electrical service wire that runs along the edge of our yard.  At any given time, there could be 3 times this many lined up on the wire.  

I've been wanting a shot of this (trying to find the humor in this invasion), but when I head out they leave and don't return until the minute I go back in.  So I got creative and slowly opened the kitchen window... Waited a minute or two then really slowly approached the open window with my camera in place.  They fell for it.  Which left me hovering over the sink, trying to get the right angle to get as many in the frame as I could...  But it worked, so no complaints.

Later, while driving, I saw an eagle rise out of the bay with a huge fish in his talons.  With all this snow, there wasn't any space for me to pull over and I missed the shot.  Now that one I feel like complaining about; what a bummer!  But it was very cool to witness just the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.