The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Mystical Spirit

I spent the morning away from my family, in my hotel room and, mostly, on conference calls. Joy, pure joy. Only to be followed by a memorial for one of the greatest men that has ever lived. I know that is a bold claim and that is impossible to judge the truth of such an unknowable proposition. But, trust me, this man was one of the greatest.

He entered my life as a business partner but, when I witnessed his wisdom, he quickly became my mentor. We were equal in terms of the organizational chart but I followed this man like a sheep does his shepherd. And, when I experienced his unending kindness and compassion, he became my dear friend. And, finally, when I was the recipient of the love of his heart, he became an adopted brother.

He was a three time NCAA basketball champion at UCLA and played on the greatest collegiate team ever assembled. He was an All-American athlete and his face graced the cover of Sports Illustrated frequently. He was a gifted lawyer, trained at Harvard though he would never admit that. He will forever be a legend in the legal community. And, less I forget, he was a gifted chef and a consummate foody.

But all that does not matter. What matters most is that he was a husband that adored his wife, a father that worshiped his three daughters and the very definition of "best friend."
And, he had this amazing ability to make anyone in his presence giddy with joy. He was the very meaning of "up".

The void in the hearts of those at the service seemed so large that I was surprised that the vacuum created by his departure did not create a black hole in the atmosphere. But his wife was a passionate photographer and she closed the memorial with a series of images that made Kenny visually present in our lives again. As he came alive again in pixels, his warmth again filled my heart. His smile, as it always did, brought a smile to all those assembled to say goodbye.

Kenny, you will forever be my very definition of the joy to be alive.

After the memorial, I was lifeless back in my hotel room, then I watched the Giants win sweep the World Series and then meandered down to the Santa Monica Pier Amusement Park where it was decorated for this time of year. I wish I had the energy and desire to process this but I am off to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.