Halfway there

A dull, dry day

I am now in training for the Dundee Kilt Walk. It starts in St Andrews and  ends in Monifieth, the full distance being 25 miles. Three of my family are attempting that distance. The next starting point is in Tayport, which gives a distance of 11 miles and my wife and a granddaughter are attempting this one. I have entered for the 'wee wander' as it is called, starting at Discovery Point in Dundee, giving a distance of 6 miles. I have to be honest, it does not seem like a wee wander to me - more like a marathon.

Yesterday at the Gym, I managed 2 miles. Today, I managed 3.1 miles in an hour. Co-incidentally that is approximately 5K - so maybe one day I can do a 5k 'Park Walk' along with the rest of the family. So, halfway to the target with four months to go. Last year, that would have seemed impossible to me - but, with determination and grit, I am slowly getting stronger in my legs and knees as well as my half functioning heart, more commonly known as 'Heart Failure'. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.