Mystery TT

The theme for this week’s Tiny Tuesday challenge is “I see this everyday”. I felt that to make an interesting blip it either needed to be an everyday item photographed in an unusual way, or it needed to be something we see but don’t usually notice. All to often we look but we don’t see. I find blipping often inspires me really look for and enjoy the details, as in this entry. I hope you like my interpretation intothehills. Thanks for hosting this month.

So what about this flower we see often but don’t notice?
It is just 4mm across
It is the female form
The male flower is similar but with 4 cream anthers
Large red berries may form behind the flower if a male is also present
It’s a shrub
Evergreen
With golden spots on large glossy leaves
Native to China, Korea & Japan


Answer: Spotted Laurel (Aucuba japonica) - ever so common, but have you noticed the flowers before?

I’m leading a local walk for Anglia Girlguiding Trefoil members on Saturday, who will be visiting Ware for their AGM. I checked the route today so I can be sure I know all the flower names and local history along the route. I met a retired Akela from Tottenham who told me that his cubs used to make whistles and pea shooters from hollowed out Elder stems. I think I’ll try it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.