Without the trees

I saw reported somewhere last week the destruction of a row of trees outside Greenside Church which is at the end of the street in Edinburgh where I have my flat but I have not been there in daylight for a couple of weeks so hadn’t seen the outcome until today.

This morning walking to Cabinet at Bute house (the first time it has been held there for several months, because of necessary repairs) I noticed first of all the chimneys of the single story houses in Blenheim Place and the huge portico at the back of the corner building on Leith Walk - surely suggesting that the current layout of that little part of the city is not as originally intended.

The small, but I have always thought beautifully sited, church officer’s house in the garden beside the Kirk is now fully visible too.

But overall I will miss the trees, as will many who pass by. I wonder if there will be replanting or whether there is some other plan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.