Plus ça change...

By SooB

Baking my way out of it

An early (for the holidays) start to take a call from a potential new client, who I can now call an actual new client. (Small 'hurrah!")

I now have more work than I can do in the time available before my holidays start on Saturday.  Hmmm.

Later, some weeding to take my mind off TallGirl packing for her first flight alone.  (Though I work well under the stress of a deadline, family / non-work stress means I cannot apply my brain at all, so there was no point taking my mind of TallGirl with GDPR issues.) I thought I was more nervous than her, until she mentioned wanting to throw up...  It does not help that they've recently changed the security thingy at the airport, so it was all new to her.  And it definitely didn't help that her flight was delayed by 2 hours...

However, after much time with me being 'Houston' and guiding her to the moon, she is now safely installed with some lurkers in these parts (her godfather and family) and being fed meatballs and other delicious things.  I hope she takes a big confidence boost from having dealt with all that alone.  (Not the meatballs, the five hours or so just before that.)

Meanwhile, in Alsace, it turns out that CarbBoy's teachers forgot to book a hotel room for tonight.  So, it not being reasonable to bring 54 school kids and six teachers to your friend in Strasbourg for the night, they have had to find another hotel.  And, it being too late there for dinner, food was sourced from MacDonalds.  "Yeah!" say all the teenagers... except CarbBoy who, because of his allergies was told to order a salad.  Which arrived without the chicken he'd asked for.  (I have no information yet on why he didn't have nuggets, which is what he normally has whenever we are forced by Sunday opening hours to eat there; despite being surgically attached to his phone, he is not much of a one for sms'ing.)  Given that most of his communication with me this week has been about how hungry he is, I think I may cook a kilo of pasta ready for his return on Friday.

And tonight I had part two of a meeting with neighbours.  More talk about the crazy neighbours and I was told I was being foolish for trying to take a middle road and be reasonable with them since they are clearly madsters who are trying it on (loose translation).  I normally take something sweet to eat and, being as I was super-stressed, I killed two birds with one stone by baking through the hours that TallGirl was in the air.  This (new to me) recipe for madeleines was given a very hearty thumbs-up by everyone.  Apparently it's all in the thermal shock.

Hot again today.

And, yes, our living room is full of cardboard boxes as steps for the rabbits, houses for the rabbits and mazes for the rabbits.  Earlier, TallGirl left them unsupervised and now they think they own the sofa. When I finally get around to making the new sofa, they will not be allowed near it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.