Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Shining, not burning

I met Sarah during Occupy in 2011. She’s a Veteran for Peace, and we have crossed paths many times at Portland protests. She has very serious Trigeminal nerve disorder and has survived many surgeries, so her energy is precious. About three years ago she decided she was wearing herself out with activism, and after some soul-searching decided she would focus on suicide prevention. She is the only activist I know who works directly with the police as an advocate for people with depression and suicidal ideation. Her intention is to put an end to "Suicide by cop." Her work gives her great satisfaction, and she takes pride in her successes. 

I came across her quite by surprise in the street today, and we both stopped and had a wonderful catching-up talk. She told me she has been repudiated and maligned by some activists who refuse ever to speak with the police, and then she smiled and said her new motto in life is, “I don’t burn, I shine.” 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.