Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

The cult of the ubiquitous pigeon

So much to choose from today! I went with my mother to meet my sister at the National Portrait Gallery to see the Victorian Giants exhibition. Interesting enough but not fascinating, I do tend to bore rather too easily I suspect. But outside there was sunshine and movement and music and crowds and happiness. 

We took a look at the fourth plinth, which I had thought might be my blip, and then we took a walk in the park to see the water fowl and ubiquitous pigeons. We sat on the grass listening to Dutch boys listening to hip-hop and then bimbled about some more. There was the London Eye with some ministerial Whitehall building at its centre, a statue to Clive of India whose inscription had been altered by time to read Olive, and there was this; a memorial to those killed in the Bali bombings in October 2002. I hadn't seen this before.

I see that Arachne is planning a blipmeet in Oxford on Saturday 2nd June and I am sorely tempted to take up the “Blending into your surroundings” challenge. Note: the same venue also includes hints of terracotta.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.