Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

RGS Goose 2 is back!

Just received Goose #2 back from Tom O - the DCC decoder installer that I hire to do the work.  I realize that many hobbyists do this themselves - not me.  Taking apart an excellent  brass scale locomotive or Goose and installing a very sophisticated decoder, keep alive circuit, and speaker without damaging the model is beyond me.  And Tom is excellent.  No fuss no muss.  Even sets the CV values in the decoder to match the model.  

An up side to converting to DCC sound is that the model never ran this good in the past.  It makes all the sounds of the Goose, including shifting gears as it accelerates.

Now I can get LCL (less than carload) freight shipments to Dolores as well as a few local passengers.  It sits in front of my scratch built goose barn which was used as a warehouse in the 1950's .

Also received back RGS #461 and #74 locos - steamers that Tom has just installed decoders etc in.  I am putting the loose details back on and hooking up the tenders.  They will be the next blip. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.