Golitha Falls

It was a lovely morning when I woke up. I had breakfast and started packing up to leave and I noticed it was becoming misty and wet. Gradually it became a full blown fog and I needed a new plan for my last day of photograhy.

I decided that Golitha Falls would be a good option but I didn't really know where it was. On consulting google I learned that it was near Liskeard so just a bit of a detour on my way home really!

I set off and soon found myself going down ever narrower lanes. I was regretting not stopping for coffee but surprise, surprise when I got to the car park there was a nice little cafe there.

It's a lovely woodland and I followed the path alongside the River Fowey until I got to the falls. It's a series of cascades allong a stretch of the river. I gather it was once much bigger but in the nineteenth century someone blew it up so salmon could get further upstream. Anyway, I took a series of pics and I've put the rest of them in my trip album, along with some of mountainous seas from Hartland Quay yesterday. They're here if you'd like to see them.

I'm home now but it's been a good trip, short but sweet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.