beetwiss

By beetwiss

My favourite place

We moved to Standen not long after the sudden death of our eldest daughter. I immediately felt at home in this beautiful house. My youngest daughter and the daughter of my boss both got married from the house within months of each other and in the true traditions of the Arts and Crafts Movement everything, apart from the wedding dress was home made. We spent hours hand printing invitations, napkins and making decorations. I made all the food, it was a fabulous day. Working there was very hectic but very satisfying. At the end of the day I needed to escape hence my favourite place. I have sat in this summerhouse many evenings a lot of the time howling my eyes out remembering Fiona, but always leaving calm and ready for the next influx of visitors. Yesterday I did not think my legs would get me up there, but I knew if I managed it I would cry and sadden my friends so I let them go and take this picture for me

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.