Greenstead

By Greenstead

Horsell Wetlands Centre

Sadly my art classes did not restart today so the friend I go with suggested we go for a coffee at the Horsell Wetlands Centre instead. I had never heard of it before, but it seemed like an interesting place to visit. Following some refreshments, which included some very tasty cake, we went for a short walk round the site in blazing sunshine. There are some wonderful carved animals as you can see in my blip. There are a series of ponds that were covered with a variety of insects. I was told there are rare breed sheep there too, but I didn’t see any.

This site was previously a mushroom farm. It was acquired by McLaren in partnership with the Horsell Common Preservation Society to offset the loss of green belt land from the development of the F1 headquarters in Chertsey. Great for us, maybe not so good for Chertsey. This is certainly a nice place to visit, and not a Martian in sight H.G. Wells!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.