A Winter Tree In Summer

Up here in Yorkshire we didn't quite get to the scorching heights that London reached - just 23 deg to their 29 deg - but it was plenty warm enough. There was barely the faintest wisp of cloud to be seen in the sky all day, which remained wall to wall blue from morning to night. You don't experience days like that too often. Not the easiest of weather for photography, of course, but when you get these temperatures in April it's wise not to complain. It's quite possible that we won't see another day like it all year.

Writing this up a day after the event, it now feels like a dream. Winter trees basking in warm sunshine just feels wrong. Trees don't normally glow like they did yesterday. And my legs were as ill-prepared for such a day as my head. I felt like I was continually chasing the shadow of my former self. That effort was exhausting - but all rather wonderful at the same time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.