The not-so-new New Bridge

Decided a visit to Glen Tilt was in order taking a left turn at the Ach-Mhairc footbridge to head towards the New Bridge (can be spotted in extra) which crosses the Allt-Mhairc near where is joined by by Allt-Dirbh (I'm recording the names of of rivers and bridge in a bid to remember the better).  If you continue on after crossing the New Bridge (which is decidedly old) you can then climb Beinn Mheadhonach, a Corbet which was is on our list. 


I was curious to see how steep the approach to the New Bridge was as well as the hill itself as the former looked daunting in photos of walk reports and the later from afar. The answer is that the hill itself looks fine but the approach to the bridge (the river is essentially in a gorge) is a narrow path along a steep slope. I was OK (just) on approach but found the return more daunting - the drop was now on my right hand side and my vertigo kicked in.  So having re-assured myself that the hill is OK, I am less sanguine about the approach; Mr T tells me it was 4 mins in and 7 mins out so only a tiny fraction of our overall hike - so will steel myself to give it another go (alternative routes to the hill involve much longer walk-ins). 

All in all it was a grand hike (and at over 10.5 miles (10.64 to be precise) our longest of year so far) enriched for me by the red squirrel I saw scampering over the Gilbert Bridge near the start of the walk (my first of 2018).

A steam train was passing through Pitlochry and Blair Atholl today as we were out walking so we didn't see but we did hear it.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.