an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Great Run

Today the Great South Run was in town along with its 25000 competitors. After the usual early start to the day we watched the start of the race on the telly box before heading down to mile nine to watch the runners heading into their final mile. On the way there we crossed the seven mile marker where just as we approached it Jo Pavey zoomed past us, well ahead of the chasing pack. Not long after finding our nine mile spot, where I could stand on a traffic island in the middle of the race, and she was coming then coming towards us heading towards her victory.

Not long after the elite men flew past us then a little while after the thousands of other runners. As Boy slept, keeping keeping his cough at bay, we kept an eye out for friends. Annoyingly the first and fastest spotted me before I saw him. Being too close for my slow lens to focus on him I got a blur of his face followed by a great shot of his back as he charged on down the course. We then clapped and watched lots more runners that contained friends and celebs on their way and we hung around in the cold until possibly the fastest Vegman in the race stormed on through. As the lady in front of him illustrates the free jelly babies for runners did not go down well.

I was very impressed with all the runners and I can see how inspiring watching them is and I am in awe of them. However I am not inspired enough to think about entering next year. I simply do not get running for enjoyment. Everytime I run, without something to chase, I just think "when will it end, when will it end", until it actually does end.

Also any sport where regular competitors say "the atmosphere and crowd really help you get round" makes me think that if you need help to get round you should probably do something less taxing. Added to that I like cake too much. As I say I don't get running, and so must take my hat off to all the runners today who did, well done you are far better than me, and I do not know how you do it.

Once home Boy and I stayed in with his cough where we built skate ramps for toys whilst the Girls went to a birthday Halloween party, where once again Girl won pass the parcel and came home with cake. Now thats the type of competition I can realate to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.