It's life, Jim

By BoxBootley

Gender and Politics on Social Media

Today I've been working hard on my presentation for University. My focus is Gender and Politics on Social media and most specifically the representation of female politicians and the social interactivity of politics on Twitter.

I believe this is a really interesting topic and I've been simultaneously been having a lot of fun and a lot of stress doing this piece. I originally had a slide on feminism on Twitter and I was going to use this slide to show that although there is a large proliferation of the importance of the female gender, this does not actually have an impact on politics. I was going to argue that this was a good thing for female representation in politics as it shows that they are genuinely appreciated and desired rather than used as a figurehead to show that females are now in large positions in politics but I couldn't quite make it flow as well as I have just presented in this post... 

So I deleted this slide and my stress eased up a little bit. I added a bit more on the interactive potential of Twitter-politics and then finally included a backup source! That's now my most difficult part. I could argue and present my opinions on these subjects all day but I wouldn't get a very good grade without any supporting resources. It's very difficult as I can't find a good one on Gender representation anywhere!

I did find this quote "empirical surveys have consistently suggested that women are under-represented as users of the internet" and I was going to use this to argue that female representation in politics on Twitter is less than males because of this under-represented female usership. The idea is that the media tries to focus its coverage on its users, so if females are under-represented on Twitter they're not going to try as much to compose an article to flaunt the nature of a female politician. 

I think it's going quite well and when my boyfriend gets home I'm hoping he won't be too tired and I can show him my progress and ask what he thinks. I'm only doing half of my presentation today as I think splitting it up will really help me to get the best out of it and will definitely limit the amount of stress I have. It also means I can use the rest of my spare time to enjoy my day and maybe even focus on some of my other assignments. Most of those are just readings at the moment so they're way easier than this presentation!

I chose to start making daily posts about what impacts me the most in my day to day life and I figured the reduced amount of stress from my presentation couldn't be topped today so I wrote this post relatively early in the day. I know that nothing can beat calming me down at the moment as I've been extremely upset and lonely lately so I knew this would be the perfect thing to post.

Finally, my s/o is at a Magic game thing today and it makes me happy that he's gone out with his friend for the day to go enjoy himself and have a good time away from home, work and University. He is going to his University library after the game to finalise his groups presentation ready for tomorrow and I really hope everyone shows up and puts all their effort into it as he doesn't deserve to have a crappy group. He's doing so well for himself at the moment and I'm so proud of him, I just wish he'd put some of the effort he puts into his games into his work so that he can do EVEN BETTER. He's honestly doing amazing so it's not like he needs to do better but it's such a great feeling to get better at something and I think he'd appreciate that if he really tried it. Even if it was just one extra day working on his essays and editing them to the best he can, it honestly makes such a difference to a persons' grade to have that extra draft. Forget that anyway, we watched "Truth or Dare" at Vue yesterday with "student VIP" seats and I actually really enjoyed it. I'm not sure if he did, I thought it was quite similar to the Final Destination films and I really like those so maybe it just struck a thing for me. He's not too good with 'horror' movies so I'm really happy he still came with me and didn't decide to say no to it. I think secretly, he liked it and he just doesn't want to admit it! I had two Tango Ice Blasts and it cause my third sugar-rush of the day and I was a little out of it for a while. I really wanted to surprise him when we got home but I ruined it and wasn't able to make the rest of the night good so I apologised to him for being miserable and stupid and he gave me a hug and calmed me down. We then started watching whatever the crap he likes is and honestly it was so bad I started getting tempted to order food so I could focus my attention elsewhere. He agreed that it was terrible and that we should have food and he got us both a Pizza Hut, I only really wanted bite-sized foods so I asked for a portion of chicken strips and he ordered me a pizza to eat today and it was nice. I never usually thank him properly but last night I did. I felt it was the least I could do since I messed everything else up with my pathetic emotions. I hope they stop ruining everything soon, I just really want to start progressing with him and feel so held back. 

Anyway, instead of adding a new unfinished paragraph I'm going to end it here just to let myself know that I need to stop getting distracted and finish the half of my presentation that I wanted to do today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.