Englishman in the Balkans

By BalkansDavid

Chess

Apart from bitterly cold days in late Autumn and Winter, or those where there is snow, Banja Luka's senior citizens can be found playing chess.

Whether in Mladen Stojanović Park, or opposite the main church in the city centre, you'll find players huddled around large chess boards painted in the ground.

I think that the huge pieces that are moved across the boards are made of heavyweight plastic, and stored in what can best be described as roadside sandbins.

The games are certainly taken extremely seriously, and it's usual for tourists (and people like me), to be firmly chastised for taking photographs or video.

Rather weird.

But I think I can appreciate the need not to be disturbed, whilst working out their strategies.

One thing I have realised though.

I have yet to see a female player.

Gender equality in the Balkans may be making considerable progress but it looks like there might be some way to go, until skirts are seen at these open chess boards!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.