Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Isn't She Beautiful?



The speckled bush-cricket (Leptophyes punctatissima)

This insect is a flightless species of bush-cricket that is common throughout Europe, but in the UK is mainly confined to the South Coast.
This is the female which has a laterally flattened, upwardly curved ovipositor and just a thin light stripe down its back (the male has a broader brown stripe). Both are bright green with a spotted / speckled appearance which gives it its name.

I was clearing the bindweed (and others) from the last corner of my mother's garden around the compost bin when I spotted it climbing the fence behind where I was working. I managed half a dozen shots before it disappeared over into a neighbour's garden.

I am leaving tomorrow to begin the 2-day long journey back to Fife so my blipworthyness remains in doubt for those two days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.