tlde

By tlde

Diane

Last week when we were at the museum we visited an exhibit called Picturing the South.  A commissioned work done on a semi-regular basis highlighting one or more photographers who use the South for their theme.  Sally Mann being the first artist in the series.  This year the photographer was Mark Steinmetz .  The title of the show is Terminus.  The original name of Atlanta, and the show featured Hartsfield-Jackson Airport or ATL.  The photos were wonderful, beautiful, clever, familiar and then suddenly I was drawn to the photo that is reproduced on today’s blip.  Two people who are clearly greeting each other fondly and I realized the woman was my friend Diane.  I saw her  yesterday and she confirmed it was her.   She said she knew nothing about the photo and was surprised, but yes it’s her greeting her brother-in-law.  I gave her tickets to the museum and I hope she enjoyed seeing it in person.  The extras are  of Diane  and the whole photo.  I I cropped her photo out of a group picture I have  - so it is not so great.  
Interesting how street art sometimes are of images of people you know and recognize.  I am hoping somehow we can obtain a copy from the artist.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.