RMH

By RMH

Can I go? Please!

I 'borrowed' Toby for the day and we went for a walk along the roman road. Interestingly enough only the second time I've been here in all the years I've lived here! It was a beautiful, warm 'summer' day. :)

Toby came into my life the summer after losing Jewelz (my baby - old english sheepdog, best friend and loyal companion for 15years). It happened quite by 'accident'. One morning after church my house mate and I found Ella (friend from church) standing outside with this tiny bundle of fluff. She talked enthusiastically about her 'new baby' (a cockapoo) that she had just picked up and the conversation progressed to her worrying about having to return him to the breeders for her and Peter to attend a two week long conference that they had been booked into from the previous year. They would have two weeks at home with their pup then be leaving for 2 and a half weeks. Unexpectedly Cathie said "Well we could look after him!". I was taken by surprise and wondered if I'd want that but then thought ... well it's the start of the summer holiday and we could!
So, that is what happened.
Lots of people said "Oh, that's it! Once you've had it for a couple weeks you'll have fallen for it and want your own." I figured it be fine. I could look after a puppy.....and not fall in love with it. After all it was not my puppy.
So young Toby  came to stay before he was allowed to go out for walks. I cared for him and enjoyed him but did not fall for him........Until near the end of the two week mark when I made a fatal move! Just as in the movie 'Pretty Woman' where the rule is to never kiss them on the lips........I kissed him on the nose one night before going to bed! And at that moment he stole my heart!!!
Now Cathie and I are his 'official' "holiday mummies" or "auntie" as I'm sometime called.
He is a stubborn, mischievous boy who loves a good cuddle! And I love when he comes to stay. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.