Bird nerd heaven

This weekend may not have netted the most number of "good" birds but it has been a great weekend for photographing birds! We wandered over the the University's preserve and hiked around the marsh trail and the woods. The ponds had the usual assortment of blackbirds and geese , but also a few wood ducks though they were too far away for photos. There were ruby and golden crowned kinglets everywhere and I am still trying to get a decent photo of the gold crown on one. 
But there were a few really good finds and this was the absolute best. My husband spotted this American Bittern in the marsh ( in a spot I had just swept over) as he picked up his head. These are so hard to find and I couldn't believe it when he practically posed. It's only the third time I have ever seen one and only the first when I had a camera on me. 
I have to say there were 3 other good photos today and I may post them later this week because the week  is going to be a busy one. Yard work , ironing and paperwork for recredentialing for work all have dibs on my time,Sigh.I'd really rather be out playing with the camera and binoculars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.