People at Work : : Concentration

It was busy in Acre coffee this morning and everybody was installed with their devices except for the man sitting next to me who was writing what I assumed to be his journal in impossibly small writing. When he started going back and underlining parts with a ruler and a red pencil I couldn't help thinking that there would be nothing in my life worthy of that kind of attention. Perhaps he was studying for an exam....

There was a group of young women with small children installed in high chairs around a table. The kids didn't have deices...yet... but the moms all did. 

My attention was caught by the young woman in my picture who was crocheting and had her yarn corralled in a special cup with a slot in the side for the yarn to come through. I commented on it and she told me it had been made for her by a friend. Her only regret was that it wasn't bigger since most of her yarn came in balls that were too big to fit in her little cup. This one seemed perfectly suitable for the yarn she was using and for working in a coffee shop. 

She did have her phone out in front of her, but it turns out she had the pattern for the little shrug she was making on it. I told her I had just abandoned a sweater I have been working on for a year because I could NOT figure out how to join the sleeves and had taken it out so many times I couldn't stand it anymore. She said she had already bought a pair of shorts to go with her shrug to motivate her to finish it!

Something is causing the battery on my own phone to go down so fast I can almost watch it. Since I have already gotten one new battery, I suspect it is Apple's way of reminding me I should buy a new phone. Perhaps even the $1,000 iPhone X.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.