Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Sing a Song of Sixpence

Sorry for the rubbish photo - taken on the phone in low light - but you get the idea.

A nest of baby blackbirds who need feeding every ten minutes from dawn to dusk - we were syringing fluids down their gaping throats and some minced up food - they are very demanding, I have new found respect for parent birds. 

Kath who runs the centre asked me to clean out a cage with an injured duck but warned me "it's aggressive". I thought to myself, "how aggressive can a duck be really?" Good grief, it was like The Exorcist, she was hissing, spitting and lunging at me. The three teenagers who volunteer there were watching in horror at the thought they might have to do it next week! 

 Bit of fluffy duckling cuteness in extras - I am sure they will grow up to be well mannered and not at all scary!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.