A Gem By The Mailbox......

      I had a wonderful day today.  It started with lunch and good friends, Maura and Connie, for lunch.  We had a wonderful catch up on the current events of each other's lives.
      After lunch, since I was in Gainesville, I went to the Total Wine Store and got some wine.  I had a great conversation with the manager about wines, how pallets are developed, and the fact that since Gainesville is a University town, sweet wines would always be on their shelves.  The reason for that is young people usually have undeveloped palettes due to their age, and that most younger drinkers are ready to develop their tastes until later on in life.  The conversation was really interesting, as I like the kinds of sweet red wines that the young people like, so I must have an undeveloped palette, as well.
      After that errand was done, and since I had noticed a need to have my eyes checked (hadn't had been checked in several years and I was noticing greater difficulty in reading street signs) I stopped by the eye Dr's to make an appt.  Imagine my surprise when I was told that I could get in to see the Dr. in 15 mins.  I found a nice, shady place to park my car, walked the dogs, and get back to the Dr's office.   
    It turns out my eyes haven't changed in over 10 years....   the script for reading was fine and I don't need anything for distance.  But I have developed a stigmatism in my L eye.  So....  I spent a good bit of money,  and now will have 2 pairs of new glasses in about a week, or so.
     When I got home, I went to the mailbox and walked by a really large broadleaf evergreen......  but it was flowering!  I got some lovely shots of the  unusually red, vibrant, and prolific flower as I have seen in a very long time!  It has become today's blip for me.   
       Today has had beautiful weather...  blue skies, a great breeze, wonderful friends, errands completed, new glasses ordered, a great walk this evening with the girls and now...........    a shower!
What more could a person ask for?  It's like Nirvana!!!
     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.