A Nod To The Past

The weekend is forecast for rain and that made me think I should catch the magnificent autumn foliage while it is still around.  I drove south from where I live to this reserve area.  As my followers know I'm married to the forester.  Although he is retired now over 40 years of noticing trees with him will never  leave me.  There was a policy of planting amenity trees close to roads to enhance the rural landscape.  In this blip you can see the gold of the deciduous Larch contrasting with the dark green pines.  In the economic and social changes of the late 1980's the Government Forest Service was disestablished.  I like to think some forester planned this road edge.  Also the reserve I was standing in has specimen Oaks and Liquid Amber trees.    Another stunning autumn day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.