MyCountryWalks

By MyCountryWalks

Banbury Tower on Bredon Hill

Thursday. A really excellent walk over this dominant hill. I grew up in Worcestershire and on a good day I could see this clearly. This was the first time I had walked over it. Very steeply uphill for the first mile then more gently up for the next two. As you can see a clear day but there was a strong cooling wind. The Malvern Hills are in the distance and in between is the M5 motorway (which you can't see).

More on flickr

The tower was originally built as a summer house but is now covered in mobile phone aerials (see extras). I didn't linger near this for fear of having my brain fried by all the microwaves.

The tower is on the site of Iron Age Fort and also a Roman Fort and as you can see the earthworks from these are still clearly visible

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.