Underwhelming

I keep ending up at tech events where there is lots of chat about VR.

I've never really bothered with it much, but I thought I'd get a Google Cardboard to see whether smartphone VR was worth the hassle.  Trying to keep up with the times...  Then I found an even better option on eBay for less than a tenner including a bluetooth remote control.  Definitely a step up from cardboard...

The quality of the headset is fine - it compares OK against some of the higher end kit I've tried.  I'm not so sure about the controller, but it works for the basics at least.  

The problem is that I really can't be bothered with any of the VR apps I've found.  The games I've found seem clunky, the content would look better on my big screen TV, and once you get over the first 30 seconds of "wow, it can follow when I turn my head" it's not very engaging.  More specifically, it's not very engaging and I have an enormous danged box strapped to my face.

I'll do a bit of research and see if I can find any apps that make the cumbersome nature of the headset seem worthwhile, but for now I am underwhelmed.

Any suggestions for apps or content?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.