Art and Artifice

Thumbs up to messing about! This is a photo of my hand on to which I've superimposed virtual nail art. The nail design I doodled on my tablet. Then, after converting my photo to black and white, I photoshopped the virtual nail on to my thumb. A fun time-wasting activity as befits the Silly Saturday challenge - for which thanks to host admirer!

Unfortunately, I'm not able to give a thumbs up that to my current acrylic painting. As I feared, working on it, I've destroyed what I'd felt were promising beginnings. I was aiming at creating movement as well as painting light, while trying to  develop a looser style. Sadly, I've diminished any sense of movement and over-painted, getting tighter and tighter all the time. Oh, well! I won't learn if I don't try. I was trying to paint dancers and (I think) did achieve a feeling of movement and the light shining through the girls' costumes before I ruined it. My Extra (taken a couple of days ago) is a reminder of what I was aiming at - the 'before'.

If I can make something of the 'after' I might blip that another day. At the moment it's sitting drying and looking frustratingly like a failure. Perhaps I can make it into more of a stylised painting - not what I was aiming to produce originally - but 'something'?! Or maybe I'll paint the whole thing out in black and start again. Another day ...!

But now it's nearly weekend wine time, so that's good. Have a pleasant evening, blipmates.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.