Siberian Squill....

....also known as Scilla Siberica--a real survivor in colder climates! 
I hadn't seen the scilla when I was out a few days ago checking on my daffodils (daffs still not quite ready to bloom)  which is unusual in that the scilla generally blooms right after the snowdrops. But when I was out this afternoon I could see the bits of blue all over the place, so it's popped up very quickly! 
I left early this morning to meet my sister in Richfield, about a 45 minute drive from my house. Her niece (on her husbands side) is getting married today, and needed the venue decorated, but none of the brides' friends or other family members were willing to do it for her, so my sister volunteered to do it....then promptly called to see if I'd help her, which of course I said I would. I think we did a really great job, had fun doing it, & it only took us about two hours. Then my sister went home to get ready for the wedding, and I drove over to my brothers' house to visit, as it's only about another 5 miles from where we were. I'd brought my camera along, as he gets so many birds in his back yard that I never see here in the city, and would you believe it--the only birds we saw were sparrows and one cowbird! I didn't take a single picture.....but, as he said, the birds are much more active early in the morning or later in the evening. So we sat and chatted--along with my sister-in-law and niece--and caught up on our vacations (they went to Gettysburg and surrounding areas the week before I was in South Carolina), the latest news, plans for the summer, etc. Three hours and no birds later, I left. I took the long way home, both to avoid the congested expressway and to make a stop at "Wild Birds Unlimited" to stock up on Sunflower seeds for the cardinals, get a platform feeder for them, & pick up some bark butter!! 
Hope you're all having a great weekend!    :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.