Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

Spur-Wing Plover

It has been mainly wet today but in a small break in the weather I went to the paddock fence to see if I could see the bird  that has been making such a lot of noise.  I knew somewhere in there I would find a large bird with huge yellow wattles in front of its eyes and spurs at the end of its wings.

Sure enough it was there. The plover was strutting around and calling in its shrill voice quite close to the fence. It was not keen for me to be there and rose into the air giving me this shot as it headed away.

A quick look at the bird book and I discovered the spur-wing plover is a danger to aviation in New Zealand being responsible for a third of all bird strikes.

Went to see the movie "The Guernsey Literary and Potato Pie Society"  this afternoon. It is a very long time since I had read the book so am not sure how close it stayed to the story but I did enjoy the film.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.