Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Squirrel

When I lived here as a child I do believe that my mum's garden was visited by more neighbours' cats and fewer squirrels. Squirrels seemed to favour the park across the heath and foxes favoured the railway line. I suppose that maybe fewer people these days keep domestic cats and so squirrels and foxes have become bolder. I have seen a fox in my mum's garden a couple of times since I have been staying here but I have not yet been quick enough with the camera, they certainly are not as tame as those with names in West Cork.

This squirrel is not in my mum's garden, it's down the road a bit and I will show you more from there soon enough. But I have noticed that the majority of squirrels in my mum's garden are hopping over the fence carrying nuts and often making as if to bury then in her lawn. I did wonder where these nuts were coming from and I have now found that out. A kindly soul down the road keeps a tray full of hazelnuts beside the front door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.