Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

Men with odd shape balls

Today I met up with a couple of old friends from uni and we went to Wembley to watchthe New England Patriots trounce the St Louis Rams 45-7 in a wet and wintery 'International Series' NFL game.

Owain, Will and I all played American Football for the Loughborough Aces, so we've always been avid fans of the game and always keen to see it played properly!

I've not seen Owain for nearly 2 years, so it was great to see him again - and I was relieved when we seemed to pick straight up where we left off (a bone crunching bear-hug from the 18stone welshman!).

This photo was taken pre-game during the national anthams. Everyone in the stadium had been left a coloured plastic bag on their seat, and told to hold it up when the anthams were being sung. Pearing out from behind my blue bag, I saw that the whole stadium had been transformed into a giant Union Flag / Star Spangled Banner. Nice touch!

The memories I'll take away from today include the sheer scale of the inside of the stadium as you emerge out to take your seat - it's enormous. I'll also remember the noise of 84,004 people cheering every touch down. I'll remember Rampage the St Louis maskot dancing Gangnam style.... But most of all. The thing that'll bring a smile to my face again and again is Boris Johnson making a pre-game speach and getting one of the biggest cheers of the night (from the British fans):

"I want to welcome you all to this great contest of Rugby League Football..."

Genius.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.