Papa Amsel again

Mama and Papa Amsel are so busy feeding their young! And I was so wrong about their age; today I saw and heard(!) the young practising their wings - it can't be much longer before their first flight.

I spent most of the afternoon on the balcony again, watching Mama and Papa Amsel come and go. Those young are hungry! I could hear that, too!
One time a big fat juicy worm fell right next to my foot; I wonder how it escaped the hungry beaks up there. I was nice and put it back in the grass - a second chance for both the worm and the parents...
Made me wonder how the parents manage not to kill the worms - look how many Papa Amsel is carrying in this beak. Wiggling and wobbling...
Many large dead insects on the balcony also - looks like insects are dead before they reach the young. Or the young are picky and kick out what they don't like....

20:00; 21°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.