Horizons

Well, arriving back in Scotland wasn’t as bad as I had feared.

For one thing, the sun was shining (only 11⁰c, but still). Next, it looks like spring has burst upon us while I was away. What was grey has become green.

Then, for once Edinburgh Airport was operating quite effectively (yes, you read it here first). Lastly, a bus to the park and ride was waiting for me as I stepped out of the terminal and left about 3 minutes later!

All this positive stuff comes on top of more excellent experiences from both Atatürk Airport and Turkish Airlines.

It was still poignant to the point of sad to be leaving. Doǧan wasn’t working today, but strangely enough his 3rd brother (whose name escapes me - never got to know him as well as the rest of the family) popped into the guesthouse for a couple of minutes as I was waiting for my airport shuttle.

Which brings me to the Blip - the view from my bedroom window as the early morning cloud started to burn off. The Sea of Marmara, with Kınalıada on the horizon - scene of several enjoyable summer holidays with Saadet, Doǧan and the rest of the Yıldırım clan.

45 minutes from the city centre by vapur, but a million miles away. No bank, no cars, water delivered by horse and cart...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.