Chapel Brow Holy Well

Gosforth

Honing my skills in the barking and bonkers department, I set off at about 3pm in search of this well. As I trudged up a very boggy field my hopes were dwindling until I caught sight of some mangled iron railings and the sound of running water below an iron cover. It is thought that this lay in the centre of a chapel well that pre-dates the church. In the distance to the left is Black Combe and to the far right but not in the picture was a smashing view of the Isle of Man. As usual, whenever I look out at the sea here I am reminded of Nicholson and 'the dazzle'. 

There was evidence of the footprint of an old building and the paths felt very ancient (extra). There was also a stone trough at the bottom of the field that is thought to have come from the chapel (extra).

I went on to have supper that I’d bought with me by Wastwater (extra).

I’ve just realised that Paula has already ‘done’ this one...
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2293130823152436663

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.