X Sighted

By q8rdave

Cedar Roots?

Yup, I am sure you can! Because I now can after some cleaning out of the invasive non-native Schinus terebinthifolius ("Brazilian Pepper" (though not a pepper, but rather related to cashew) or "Florida Holly" (not anywhere near related to the hollies (genus Ilex) of which there are 35 wonderful native species and hybrids widely in cultivation in the State)) to the west of the house. That is the Turnbull Bay side where the brackish backwater meets the vast expanses of Swoyerland. Here pictured with extra moisture courtesy of the moon, the tide and SS (Schutzstaffel? No. Rather "Super Storm") Sandy. I didn't know the roots of this Florida Red Cedar (Juniperus silicicola) were so exposed until the landscapers (I no longer do my own - I direct with texted notes and iPhone photos!) uncovered them. Of course, the roots have laid bare for many decades, but I could never see them in the forest primeval that puzzled the view and prevented useful access. As many of you have already suspected, Mirl and Sidd have annexed this new and hitherto (in their minds) unclaimed ground to their expanding Pussydom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.