A bit of roadside art

Dear Diary,

Not too far from my house is this "murder" of three crows made out of recycled metal.  I love how the artist has shaped the wings from old shovels.  I have to confess to a fascination for these sorts of things.  So clever and creative.  The crows are perched at the entrance of a nursery which is up and running finally after our long winter.  Every December I get an itch to buy tiny Santa hats to put on these guys.  Maybe I will someday.

I have added a photo of the one and only metal project I ever did.  Twenty years ago I used a cutting torch and diamond back steel plate to make this rabbit which is outside the fence in front of the house.  I welded a piece on the back that the rebar fits in that holds it.  Can't say I've had a great urge to do more but I do love to see people who work in metal.  My father's brother was a sculptor in metal.  His two sisters were painters.  Lots of artists in my family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.