Paladian

By Paladian

Such a Pretty Little Spider!

The Rower and I decided to mosey on down to the Belair Station again today, to see what we could see. I was keen to get my spider blip, and bless her heart, she was still there waiting for me.

First of all, I have very good news to report - domestic harmony has been restored, and baby magpie was, once more, begging his parents for lunch. He didn't seem any the worse for wear after yesterday's fright. Dad was a bit standoffish, but Mum was doing what Mums do best, finding grubs for her baby.

Now, for all you arachnophobes out there - this spider is tiny, so tiny you wouldn't notice her even if she jumped out at you. She lives in the white centre of a purple flower (great choice), and is smaller than a quarter of my little finger nail. I've decided that she's a she, because she's so pretty.

The most interesting thing about this particular flower spider (Thomisus spectabilis) is her choice of camouflage. If you saw Vodkaman's spider 2 or 3 days ago, you may have noticed a pink streak down the side, which mimicked the pink streaks in the flower. Well, this spider has a little orange flash on her head which mimics the orange spots in the centre of the flower. How cool is that?

I have read on one of the websites that this spider only occurs in Australia, but it looked awfully like Vodkaman's spider to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.