South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

More memories

The last couple of days have been very full of sorting out stuff stored in the loft. I must admit I have shed a lot of tears over some of the greetings cards I have been looking through, especially a batch of cards sent by my Mum and Dad to each other that make it very clear how much they loved each other (my Dad’s carer passed them to me as he couldn’t read them any more). It made me very sad to think of my Dad living alone for the past 8 years since my Mum died. I really needed the box of tissues today!
The memories included in my photo are happy ones though of the few things I kept from when my son was a baby. I feel ready to let go of most of them now, but am keeping a few. My clever Mum knitted the pram blanket with the three teddies and also the blue cardigan on the left. You may notice that the cardigan on the right is for a girl, but was just about okay for a boy even though it buttoned the wrong way. An older friend of mine was so convinced that I was going to have a girl that she knitted three girly cardigans, two of which were totally unsuitable and couldn’t be worn! I think she was always a little peeved that I had a boy....!!
I’m going to back blip some cards that I took photos of yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.