Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Bugs on the brain

It's Halloween and I felt like doing something special, also I feel I have short changed you this month with a lack of people blips. So, I decided to expose myself to you all with a Halloween SP.

The beauty of having a mush like mine is that I don't need any Halloween make-up. Originally the plan was a spot of gurning and then I thought of introducing a spider, but I could really have done with a helper for that one and there would be no point in asking my mate Geoff!

A few days ago, when Geoff and his son, Josh were visiting, Josh found this rhino beetle in my workshop, so I popped it in a jar for a future blip. I was about to release it when this idea came to me. Perfect, harmless, slow moving, holds on tight, impressive. Much more convenient than a spider.

Amazing how many goes it takes to get a shot like this, but I guess most of you have already found that out for yourselves, being crazy blippers. Each of the insects six legs has three hooks on the end, he seemed to be afraid of heights and really gripped on tight. It was a fair old struggle trying to drag him off my bonce, during the wrestling match, he made a rather disturbing hissing noise, but it was all bark and no bite. After about six sessions, my head was starting to feel like a pin cushion.

Difficult light and I didn't want to push the ISO. I tried monster ISO, mono and upped the contrast for a proper Halloween effect but it didn't work, the background was too light and I lost my head. Still, makes a good final pink blip for the month!

My young follower, Cole, is going to love this one. Imagine going to a Halloween party with one of these on your head, how cool would that be!

I hope you enjoy my Halloween contribution, almost SOOC!

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.