tomhutts

By tomhutts

Clubbing in a grain mill

It was EJs last day today. We wake up fairly early and we head to the Boxy G (my shorthand for Boxhagener Platz. Everyone loves to hate it but I know they secretly enjoy it) market. We get some streetfood and soak up the last of the sun. We swing round the flat to grab EJs stuff and head to Urban Spree for a beer before EJs flight. I’m feeling slightly hungover, sweaty, and tired. We wave goodbye to EJ and head back to the flat. Ruben and Tona are pretty keen to go clubbing that night, I’m totally not feeling it. But I tell them I’ll go home to shower and nap and see how I feel. I arise 4 hours later, feeling much better. Without giving it a second thought, I purchase a ticket for the club.
I meet Ruben, Tona, and Claire at a bar near the club where we have a few beers. I took this photo of the supermarket that was opposite the bar. I liked the eye splitting fluorescent lighting and how much atmosphere it had.
We head to the club. It was an old grain mill, so the building was very industrial. A bit maze-like, but cool nonetheless. I went to purchase some earplugs (very important for clubbing in Berlin, unless you want tinnitus) and scouted out the outdoor area. It was equally as quirky as inside. With funky lighting, a basketball court, a bonfire with benches, a canal with a wooden walkway, and possibly my favourite - a handful of treehouse/fort like structures you could sit in. We danced, chilled by the fire, and danced some more. Before I knew it, it was 6am and the birds were chirping. We get our respective trains home as the sun rises, and I make to bed for around 6:30am. It was a very Berlin night, and I loved it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.