Wild boar (backblip)

The first time ever for me to see them living in freedom! I have seen them before in a natural environment, but still fenced in, which was already so exciting to see. But to see them in this larger natural area was great. I had a good walk at the end of february, I saw lambs in een sheepfold, "wild" horses, boars and deer. In spite of it being one of the coldest days in the year, it was a fabulous walk!

I also couldn't believe my eyes when I saw a herd of what looked like Spanish bulls. Apparently some years ago the organisations for landscaping in natural areas introduced the Spanish Sayagueasa cattle to replace the Scottish cattle at some places. The Sayaguesa look threatening but are even friendlier than the Scottish cattle and they can withstand the sometimes hot summer better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.